Windows on the World of SipaKV

The American Dream

Posted on: October 10, 2005

Conchita is the proverbial immigrant who came to this country with no legal paper, one luggage and no knowledge of English. No, madam, she spoke no English and did not graduate from high school.

She learns English by watching TV.

She works for a while in a restaurant as a cook helper. She starts to clean houses on the side, as a second job (or a third, or a fourth). She soon realizes this is how she can make money and not by earning minimum wages at the restaurant! She gets a friend to print nice brochures for her : her name, her phone number and details on how well she will clean your house. She gets some phone calls. And some more and some more.

She is thirtyish, a round face, black hair and black eyes. She is short and sturdy. You can tell just by looking at her that she is what people call a Latina and that she has some Native American blood in her veins.

I met her when she left a leaflet under my door advertising her cleaning business. I know some people relish cleaning their own bathroom and find inner peace doing so, but unfortunately yours truly has not been blessed that way. Conchita comes to my house, cleans it and leaves it smelling like freshly squeezed lemon. Mmmmm….

Conchita is not the one doing the cleaning however. She has two employees, Maria and Pilar, doing it for her. These two barely speak English. They are, as Americans say, “Johnny come latelies”. I am amazed that cleaning my house contributes to the livelihood of not one, but three ladies!

Conchita is now an American citizen, speaks fluent English, has seven cars dedicated to her business and people working for her. Her main work is managing them and doing customer service. She is also in the office cleaning business now. And she has acquired expensive special equipment to enter the lucrative carpet cleaning business. I expect her to tell me soon she is also in the windows cleaning business. Or the interior painting business. Or the plumbing business. (You get the drift.).

Conchita is building herself her dream house back home. Her husband flies home every three months or so to check on the huge construction (it involves a multifamily complex) project. In the mean time, she has bought herself a house in the American ‘burbs. There are some trees surrounding it but no white picket fence and no wrap-around porch. Her two sons attend the county’s public schools. They will likely go to college. The first generation in the family that will do so.

Ten years from now, I expect to see Maria and Pilar, each with their own thriving (cleaning, or painting, or cooking or whatever) business, speaking a fluent English, and having become American citizens !

The American Dream is alive and well : Conchita makes me a believer.

5 Responses to "The American Dream"

SipAKV, thanks for writing such an inspiring piece. Just reading about determination to be successful is enough to motivate anyone. Thanks for this entry It’s very uplifting for those who may follow XXXOOO

I’m sorry but I have to say that the American Dream is no more. After 9/11, one who is not American is not even human in America. Finding a 3$ an hour job has become mearely impossible. “No illegals, No one without Social security they say…” I sometimes wonder if sleeping for 4 hours a night, eating once a day, and renting a room with another stranger, in order to scrap by, is worth my efforts. I often ask myself if it’s better to suffer in one’s own country than it is in a strange place. And I have a bachelor. It’s not even your typical story. I went to job openings, posted jobs everywhere, sent letters to companies who weren’t even looking to hire…If trying hard and trying harder than hard got you somewhere, I would be on the moon by now. Believe me, housekeeping was the last job I had in my mind. Even getting to clean toilets was hard. I had to accept half the normal pay because I had no legal papers…
Conchita succeeded because chance, or something like it, was with her. It’s not the American Dream, it’s the chance of an individual. If the American Dream truly existed, why would there be so many foreigners in the same situation as me? Not that I want to sound negative, but my story is real. Americans just want you to believe that there is such a “Dream” so that you would come here for the odd jobs Americans would never want to do. They wouldn’t have to pay a decent wage, and they can treat you like dirt coz they know you need the money. Do you really think The FBI doesn’t know about all the immigrants here? Do you think they say nothing because they want to give everyone who touches the American soil to succeed? If this is the American dream, I hope to never lay my eyes to sleep again.
I do not want to keep you from believing in thie “American Dream.” I simply wanted you to see another side of the story.

To anonymous : I am really sorry for your plight and I wish you the best.

bedy enao 🙂

mampihomehy fa ilay ip-ny tsy USA akory…

Leave a Reply

    • Anonymous: Michener, le grand romancier historique raconte dans sa fresque sur l'Afrique du Sud (je ne me souviens pas du titre) la vie d'une esclave Malagasy
    • Anonymous: mahagaga fa misy album nataon'i nicolas vatomanga izay tany amin'ny taona 1999 tany fa tsy nivoaka ilay izy : redalandy (red island) no nataony anaran
    • Zanatany: j'ai hérité (de mes grands parents qui vivaient à Mada depuis 1927)d'une oeuvre phénoménale de Maurice Le scouezec peinte à Madagascar (Mahamas)

    Categories

